I’m Showered

Yesterday my office threw me a baby shower.  It was my first shower (not counting the non-shower that Chris threw me a few weeks ago) and it was awesome.  I usually love showers anyways, even if they aren’t for me.  I love picking out a gift and having it wrapped.  I love eating bite-sized food on little plates.  I love games where adults are encouraged to dress like babies in diapers.  Its all one big ball of fun to me.  But when the shower is for YOU?  Well, that just takes it to a whole new level of fun!

It was kind of strange though to be at a baby shower and look around and think, “Oh my gosh.  All of this is because I’M the one whose going to have the baby this time!  This is for MY baby!”  It was a little surreal, I have to say.

But I moved past that nostalgia real quick when the bruschetta was served.  Food can move me through many emotions.

This is me at the gift table, taking The Seat of Honor.  Let the present opening begin, Ladies!

Hello, Gift Table

Hello, Gift Table

(NOTE:  When I sit down, I look a little more like Jabba the Hut than I do a pregnant lady.  Everything compacts when you sit down.  Like a fat suit that gets squished up around your neck.  Its really attractive.  Just squint your eyes a little and you can kind of see the pregnant thing…)

Ridiculously Overpriced Plush Monkey

Ridiculously Overpriced Plush Monkey

I got a million Johnson & Johnson bath sets, which prompted me to ask the group, “So babies are pretty dirty, huh?”  I swear, all the ladies in my office think I know nothing about raising a baby.  Geez.  A girl can’t identify one box of bottle liners and suddenly everyone fears for the baby’s life…

Ugly Baby (no really, that's its name)

Bath Gift Set

Only at a baby shower would something like a SuperMan Wee Wee Tee Pee be acceptable to hold up in front of a bunch of women that you work with.  For those of you who don’t know, a Wee Wee Tee Pee is this little hat for the baby’s…well…wee wee.  You cover him up when you’re changing his diaper so that you don’t get peed on.  Which apparently is a fairly common occurrence.  These are grown, professional women who walk up to you in all seriousness and say things like, “I just can’t live without my Wee Wee Tee Pee.”

Pee Pee Tee Pee

Wee Wee Tee Pee

Lovely Ladies

Lovely Ladies

More presents!  More presents!

More presents! More presents!

When I got home, I spent the night surrounded in baby things.  It was awesome.  I had towels, washcloths, soap (I told you babies are messy…), blankets, outfits, toys, bottles, stuffed monkeys, and the all important butt paste.  I think the fat lady can sing when the butt paste comes out at an office party.

The Loot

The Loot

One tired, happy mommy

One tired, happy mommy

7 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, Yale

7 responses to “I’m Showered

  1. jmliz

    I loved that you were overseen by the YSM Deans at your all-girls baby shower! I love it! I’m so glad you had a good time and got lots of loot :).

    Reminds me to thank you again for organizing our shower a couple summers ago. Remember the awesome punch you made? I wish I could have been there to return the favor.

    And… by the way… we’re still using the towel/washcloth set you got for Leo. He’s wrapped in it after every bath he takes.

    Wow – you are 31 weeks and going strong!

  2. they look like wonderful gifts.. but word of warning.. don’t go crazy and open every package.. i did and probably could have returned or exchanged a lot of what i got… or if you can’t you can always “regift” it to another person.. you will be surprised at how little you actually use.. especially for the first couple of months.. Enjoy the gifts you love.. and don’t feel bad about returning gifts that you don’t love… people will never know.. or you can say.. “it’s in the wash.. he wore it yesterday..”

  3. Grandma

    A wee wee tee pee?? What will they think of next!
    This would be a great Christmas or Thank You gift for your Pediatrician. Little boys “shower” them at all their examinations!! LOL

  4. How fun! Looks like you got lots and lots of great things. 🙂

  5. Lori

    I learned something today–now I know what a Superman Wee Wee Tee Pee is!

    Glad you had a great shower! I also love how there are 4 portraits of Yalie-types looming over your loot at the party 🙂

  6. Ginny

    Wow — first time I’ve heard you refer to yourself as a ‘mommy’. Weird/Awesome! let’s get this show on the road… come to Aunt Ginny!!!

  7. that’s a gorgeous room where the shower was held!