Mundane Mondays

This morning I had my first prenatal doctor’s appointment and it ended up taking much longer than expected, so I took the rest of the day off work.  It was a pretty mundane day, but sometimes I think you learn the most about people in the mundane details.  So, here are a few things that I saw throughout my mundane day:

– My desk calendar which told me that my doctor’s appointment was TODAY and not TOMORROW.  Oh, crap.

–  Two husbands sitting with their wives in the OB/GYN’s office, looking horrified and pretending to read Marie Claire magazines.  I almost gave them one of my Preggie Pops.

–  An old woman in the CVS where I was picking up my prescription.  She stopped a young man in a Marines uniform, took his hand, kissed his cheek, and told him thank you.

–  My dog with her two paws up on the counter, trying to reach a head of lettuce.  Really?  Lettuce?  You’re going to risk a butt beating for a head of lettuce?  Really?

–  My doctor tell me that chocolate milk is a great source of calcium.  Score!

–  My baby’s heartbeat.  Coolest part of my day.

–  My debit card at the gas station.  And that was the last time I saw it.  Damn.

–  A redheaded 2-year-old with big blue eyes in the grocery store.  If I have a boy, it will look like that little boy.  I think I stopped and stared for about 2 full minutes.  And then his mom gave me a disgusted look and wheeled him away.  Goodbye, Pretend Son.

–  A girl with a bumper sticker that said, “I brake for weiners.”  I’m assuming she meant hot dog weiners.  Cause I brake for those, too.

–  In about 4 minutes, I will spend my afternoon with my friend Oprah while I make lasagna for dinner.

I love mundane Mondays.

3 Comments

Filed under Marriage, pregnancy

3 responses to “Mundane Mondays

  1. Catherine

    That’s so exciting about the heartbeat! Congrats!!!

  2. Wow, you should do this every monday. I like the mundane. Especially the old lady at CVS and the pretend son.

  3. kimmy25

    Just wanted to say your dress is fabulous in your wedding picture. Who is it from?